Education Committee

education_committee_contentThe ABAOMS Education Committee group has produced information on undergraduate education. Please see the pages on our work on this website.

Background to the Group

The ABAOMS education committee was first convened in 2005 in response to the publication of the “Profile and Competencies for the European Dentist” (Plasschaert et al 2004). It consists of representatives from every dental school in the UK (15), one postgraduate institute and one Irish dental school. Dr Michaelina Macluskey (Dundee Dental School) chaired the group through the development of the UK curriculum for undergraduate oral surgery. This is now published and a pdf can be found in the published work section of this site.

Dr Helen Clark is the new chair of the committee. Dr Clark is a clinical teaching fellow in oral surgery and co-lead for anxiety and pain management at the School of Dentistry, University of Leeds. Further information on the current work of the committee can be found on this site.

The current committee are:

Aberdeen – Binthan Smart

Belfast – Joanna Smyth

Birmingham – Yogesh Bulsara

Bristol – Anna Dargue, Carla Fleming

Cardiff – Charlotte Emanuel

Dundee – Mike Macluskey, Simon Shepherd

Eastman – Rachel Leeson

Edinburgh – Eleni Besi

Glasgow – Aileen Bell

GKT – Adam Lorincz, Nadine Khawaya

Leeds – Helen Clark, James Carey

Liverpool – Lynne Millsopp, Kate Taylor

Manchester -Evgeny Kushnerev

Newcastle – Rachel Green

Pennisula – Kamran Ali

QMUL – Judith Jones

Sheffield – Robert Bolt

UCLan – Kumar Varma Datla

Association of Basic Science Teachers in Dentistry (ABSTD) representative – Professor Stephen McHanwell

Copyright 2016 ABAOMS