Prizes & Bursaries

FDS  RCSEng – ABAOMS Bursary

The FDS RCSEng-ABAOMS small grant will be for up to £10,000 and is intended to support research in Oral Surgery. The bursary seeks entries from researchers and clinicians who are not yet established and have not completed either a PhD and/or clinical training.   Applicants must be members of ABAOMS. On completion of their research project, successful applicants will be expected to present their research at a ABAOMS conference.The applications will be through the the RCSEng – Faculty Dental Surgery.

ABAOMS Conference 2018 best presentation

A prize of £100 for the best presentation at the annual conference by a trainee/junior.


ABAOMS Bursary 2017

Two bursaries each worth £1500 have been awarded to:

  • Neha Shah: Development of a higher fidelity model for suturing simulation
  • Mark Gormley: An observational study of risk factors for head and neck cancer in UK Biobank.


The ABAOMS Robinson poster prize

The winner of this years ABAOMS Robinson poster prize will receive free registration at the next years ABAOMS meeting and the opportunity to present their prize winning poster, or a cash prize of £100.


The ABAOMS Undergraduate prize

ABAOMS supports an undergraduate or postgraduate prize of £100 in each dental school. The prize is given for the student submitting an essay on a topic decided annually by the ABAOMS education committee. The winning undergraduate prize from each school is nominated for the national prize which is the free registration for the annual ABAOMS conference.

The title for 2019  is: “Is blocking with articaine better than lidocaine?”


The closing date for entry will be the 30th of June 2019The winner of the national Prize will be notified by the 1stSeptember 2019.


For more information please download the form: 2019undergraduateprize


Awarded for an essay entitled:”are CBCT’s defensive practise with regards to mandibular third molar surgery?”

  • Zamzam Abdullah(Manchester)
  • Claire Dewshi(King’s College London)
  • James Douglas (Liverpool)
  • Jason He (Cardiff)
  • Yui Yin Ko (Leeds) * overall winner
  • Hannah Lawler (Glasgow)
  • Hinali  Patel (Birmingham)
  • Rachel Sommerville (Sheffield)


Awarded for an essay entitled  “Should Wrong Site Extraction Be Classified As A ‘Never Event’?”

  • Christina Tran (Bristol)
  • Madeleine Ball (Manchester)
  • Amy Aziz (Sheffield)*, national winner 
  • Marie Daniel (Liverpool)
  • Ibrahim Matadar (Glasgow)
  • Sophia Ibrahim (Birmingham)
  • Victoria Soraya Sampson(QMUL)
  • Sha-yam Karia (Cardiff)
* The national winner was determined by a small panel from the education group . Amy Aziz (Sheffield) was selected  attended the conference in Liverpool November 2017


Awarded for an essay entitled “is coronectomy safe surgery or defensive practice? Discuss”

  • Megan Hunter (Dundee)
  • Sher Maine Foo (Belfast)
  • Charlotte Richards (Bristol)
  • Stuart Fishwick (Manchester)
  • Hannah Bradley (Sheffield)
  • Anthony Dagnall (Liverpool)
  • Anupam Chandran (Glasgow)
  • Julie Potter (Birmingham)
  • Ryan Howells (QMUL)
  • Joe Harvey (King’s London)
  • Romana Linkova (Peninsula)
  • Rachel Harlow (Leeds)
  • Decaln Hughes (Cardiff)
  • James Hills (Newcastle)


  • Awarded for the best academic performance in final year
  • John Benton, Manchester
  • Scott Wright, Glasgow
  • Subegh Srao, King’s College London
  • Virat Hansrani, Leeds
  • John McAleavey, Dundee
  • Shazia Parveen, Cardiff
  • Victoria Cave, Aberdeen
  • Eu Gene Wong, QMUL

A small group made up from the education committee then decided on an overall winner which went to Ryan Howells of QMUL.

Copyright 2016 ABAOMS